Black Mountain Reservoir

Wastewater Icon

LE PROJET EN BREF

TYPE DE PROJET :
Eau
Maître d'ouvrage :

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Ingénieur :

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Installateur :

Bennett Contracting Ltd.

Matériau de tube :

Acier au carbone, revêtu

Diamètre des tubes :

42”

Localisation :

Kelowna, Colombie-Britannique

Solutions :

  • Ease and Speed of Installation
  • Réduction des coûts
  • Safety
  • Services enterrés

En 2012, une conduite principale de transmission de grand diamètre (42″) a été construite pour acheminer de l'eau vers et depuis une station de désinfection par UV située en dessous du Black Mountain Reservoir.

Les colliers mécaniques pour systèmes rainurés de Victaulic ont été choisis pour la stratégie d'installation de la tuyauterie, qui passait sous des routes existantes, ce qui limitait l'espace et l'accès.  Le tube revêtu en acier au carbone a été préparé sur place à l'aide d'une rainureuse par moletage motorisée Victaulic VE872.   Le rainurage étant facile à mettre en œuvre, le Black Mountain Irrigation District a choisi de le confier à son personnel.

Les colliers Victaulic AGS ont permis d'assembler rapidement la canalisation et ont fait l'objet d'un contrôle visuel pour vérifier leur bonne installation.  Cela a permis à Bennett de construire et de rouvrir rapidement les zones au public.  Avec plus de 200 assemblages et pas moins de 4 km de tuyauterie, le système rainuré Victaulic a réduit drastiquement le coût total d'installation. Il a également amélioré le calendrier, réduit les problèmes de soudage d'une canalisation à ciel ouvert dans une zone peuplée, et évité l'entrée dans un espace confiné de niveau 3 pour la réfection du tube après son assemblage.

TYPE DE PROJET :
Eau
Wastewater Icon
Maître d'ouvrage :

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Ingénieur :

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Matériau de tube :

Acier au carbone, revêtu

Localisation :

Kelowna, Colombie-Britannique

Installateur :

Bennett Contracting Ltd.

Diamètre des tubes :

42”

Solutions :

  • Ease and Speed of Installation
  • Réduction des coûts
  • Safety
  • Services enterrés

En 2012, une conduite principale de transmission de grand diamètre (42″) a été construite pour acheminer de l'eau vers et depuis une station de désinfection par UV située en dessous du Black Mountain Reservoir.

Les colliers mécaniques pour systèmes rainurés de Victaulic ont été choisis pour la stratégie d'installation de la tuyauterie, qui passait sous des routes existantes, ce qui limitait l'espace et l'accès.  Le tube revêtu en acier au carbone a été préparé sur place à l'aide d'une rainureuse par moletage motorisée Victaulic VE872.   Le rainurage étant facile à mettre en œuvre, le Black Mountain Irrigation District a choisi de le confier à son personnel.

Les colliers Victaulic AGS ont permis d'assembler rapidement la canalisation et ont fait l'objet d'un contrôle visuel pour vérifier leur bonne installation.  Cela a permis à Bennett de construire et de rouvrir rapidement les zones au public.  Avec plus de 200 assemblages et pas moins de 4 km de tuyauterie, le système rainuré Victaulic a réduit drastiquement le coût total d'installation. Il a également amélioré le calendrier, réduit les problèmes de soudage d'une canalisation à ciel ouvert dans une zone peuplée, et évité l'entrée dans un espace confiné de niveau 3 pour la réfection du tube après son assemblage.

Black Mountain Reservoir

Wastewater Icon

PROJECT AT A GLANCE

PROJECT TYPE:
Wastewater
Owner:

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Engineer:

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Contractor:

Bennett Contracting Ltd.

Pipe Material:

Carbon Steel, Coated and Lined

Pipe Size:

42”

Location:

Kelowna, British Columbia

Solutions:

  • Ease and Speed of Installation
  • Cost Savings
  • Safety
  • Buried Services

In 2012, a large diameter 42″ transmission main was built to convey water to and from a planned UV Disinfection Facility located below the Black Mountain Reservoir.

The Victaulic’s mechanical grooved couplings were chosen for the project build strategy to install the piping, which traversed below existing roads, limiting space and access.  The carbon steel coated and lined pipe was prepared on-site using a Victaulic VE872 motorized roll grooving tool.   Due to ease of grooving, Black Mountain Irrigation District opted to utilize their own personnel.

Victaulic AGS couplings quickly joined the pipeline and were visually inspected for proper installation.  This allowed Bennett to rapidly construct and reopen areas back to the public.  With over 200 joints and more than 4 km/2.5 mi of piping, the Victaulic grooved system delivered a significant improvement in the overall total installed cost, while improving the schedule and reducing hassles involved with welding open-cut pipeline work in a populated area, and eliminating Level 3 confined space entry to reline the pipe after joining.

AT A GLANCE

PROJECT TYPE:
Wastewater
Wastewater Icon
Owner:

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Engineer:

Black Mountain Irrigation District (BMID)

Pipe Material:

Carbon Steel, Coated and Lined

Location:

Kelowna, British Columbia

Contractor:

Bennett Contracting Ltd.

Pipe Size:

42”

Solutions:

  • Ease and Speed of Installation
  • Cost Savings
  • Safety
  • Buried Services

In 2012, a large diameter 42″ transmission main was built to convey water to and from a planned UV Disinfection Facility located below the Black Mountain Reservoir.

The Victaulic’s mechanical grooved couplings were chosen for the project build strategy to install the piping, which traversed below existing roads, limiting space and access.  The carbon steel coated and lined pipe was prepared on-site using a Victaulic VE872 motorized roll grooving tool.   Due to ease of grooving, Black Mountain Irrigation District opted to utilize their own personnel.

Victaulic AGS couplings quickly joined the pipeline and were visually inspected for proper installation.  This allowed Bennett to rapidly construct and reopen areas back to the public.  With over 200 joints and more than 4 km/2.5 mi of piping, the Victaulic grooved system delivered a significant improvement in the overall total installed cost, while improving the schedule and reducing hassles involved with welding open-cut pipeline work in a populated area, and eliminating Level 3 confined space entry to reline the pipe after joining.